A Place in This Life · Book reviews · E-readers · Reflection · self-publishing

E-Pub-A-Riffic! You’re Published, No Matter How.


As I sat on my couch Sunday morning, I decided to peruse my author accounts on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Just because. To my surprise, A Place In This Life was doing quite well, and certainly above my expectations.

This got me thinking about the backlash and opinions I’ve heard about e-publishing, and whether it makes you a “real, published author.” You would begin to wonder if, like me, you visited book reviewer sites in hopes of sending your own work along for a looky-loo, only to be told that “if it ain’t in print by a publisher, I ain’t reading it.” What’s up with that?

I think it’s akin to getting your degree online as opposed to sitting in classes for years. The end result is your degree, but some people and companies won’t acknowledge that it’s “real” because you got it online. This is ludicrous.

Your book – your work – is real and published whether you do it on Kindle Direct via Amazon, or have it printed and bound by the little printer down the street. If you have taken the time to craft words into a story, have them edited into a proper manuscript, formatted for print and cover art designed by a professional, it should not matter whether you’ve got Penguin backing your work or Smashwords. You are published, no matter what.

Yes, I have a gripe with book reviewers and others who think A Place In This Life (and your ebook, too) is not up to par for review. You’re missing out on some great stuff.

-Julie

Note: Three years ago today, I started writing A Place In This Life. I was three days out of thyroid surgery, had found out I didn’t have cancer, and was hell-bent on taking up fiction writing again. Read how this momentous time in my life led to becoming the writer I always was, and embracing it.

Image by ewige

7 thoughts on “E-Pub-A-Riffic! You’re Published, No Matter How.

  1. You are surprised at how well your book is doing…..really? I’m not. I had always hoped you would sit down and write, and you did. Yay you!! 🙂

  2. I went through thyroid surgery in March 2007, with a happy outcome like yours. I worked on my novel, Let’s Play Ball, in the morning before I left for the hospital, and worked on it again in the afternoon of the next day when I returned. Having a continuous project really helped me through that tough time.

    1. Hi Linda!

      Pretty amazing parallel there… so glad your outcome was good. I think I lived on wine for the month leading to the surgery, but I knew that I had to get my voice out there once and for all. They say that thyroid issues have a lot to do with not “speaking up” and being heard. I think it’s true – and a great reason to write books to prevent that from ever happening again! – Julie

  3. I’m glad your book is doing well.

    There are a few people I know who act like the ebooks I read are not real books. I’m sure these people just need to catch on that it’s data in a different form.

    Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

