A Place in This Life · WIP · Writing Process · Young adult writing

Pulling Out the WIP


There was a clearing on my life’s plate recently. I’d published A Place In This Life, established a guest blogger rhythm at YA Stands, and found a reprieve from the onslaught of copywriting jobs coming across my desk. So, I opened my Work In Progress folder and eagerly eyed the WIPS. You probably have a similar stash of goodies – half-finished stories and outlines, scribbles and edits for ideas that popped into your head but weren’t able to stay there for long. Some of them surely had to be good – at least good enough to continue writing. I was hoping to find one.

When I started writing Limerence approximately one year ago, it was with the encouragement of writer pal Sheila Redling. We were both looking for something new to compose, and with her having finished the awesome Flower Town and my struggling through Little Rooms (which I finally closed the door on this year – yay!), we needed fresh writing blood. Having written from the young adult perspective in my last three books, I wanted to take a more adult approach, but without being too “grown-up.” The “New Adult” category came to mind, concocted by St. Martin’s Press as the answer for the market between YA and Adult fiction.

“Limerence is an involuntary cognitive and emotional state of intense romantic desire for another person. The term was coined by psychologist Dorothy Tennov to describe the ultimate, near-obsessive form of romantic love.[1] Limerence is sometimes also referred to as infatuation, or is colloquially known as a crush. In common speech, infatuation includes aspects of immaturity and extrapolating from insufficient information, and is usually short-lived.”

Oooh….

Limerence is a great word and the feeling I needed for this coming-of-age-in-a-bent-way story. I’d like to share more about what goes on, but need to hold back for now so I can keep the excitement of rediscovering a good WIP going. I wholly encourage you to visit your own WIP closet to see what you’ve got. If you’re in the middle of slogging through a less-than-stellar manuscript, or you’ve recently finished writing one and want to know what’s next for your pen, try it. You might just find exactly what you need to get cracking!

7 thoughts on “Pulling Out the WIP

  1. I am two books ahead of myself. One is the sequel to Spiritkeeper, and is safer, more loving territory. The other is full of wonder–and I have no idea where it will go, which is just fine with me.

    J, would you mind if I added you to my blogroll? It’s good for my head and my heart…

    -lb

  2. It’s always so interesting to me to look back on the ideas, notes, scribbles of dialogue, or whole passages months later to see which are still interesting. Often an idea that I was jazzed about originally and devoted a lot of time an attention to falls flat, while a line of dialogue recorded on a whim proves a fount of inspiration and excitement (it gives me limerance?).

Leave a Reply

