Drinking and writing · NaNoWriMo · Uncategorized

Saying Yes or No to NaNoWriMo


It’s October 24. I’m deep into the nitzley edits for Little Rooms and wondering if I should plunge into NaNoWriMo come November 1. If I commit, what promises will I have made?

1. That I will write a complete story of 50,000 words by midnight, November 30, 2010.

2. That I will have time for nothing else, including trips to the toilet and giving attention to my friends and family.

3. That I will spend an entire month with my shoulders up to my ears.

4. That I will purchase and utilize all the wine I can get my hands on (when they’re not typing)!

Okay, I’ll stop. NaNoWriMo is not so bad. I tried it last year, but when my agent called and offered to represent me on November 1, I got a little sidetracked. Besides, my story concept for 2009 was so damned depressing I couldn’t face it night after night. Kind of like an annoying person who lusts after you.

This year, my introverted and dazzling-damned-good-writer-friend, Sheila Redling, has piqued my interest in the good ol’ NaNo. She’s already plotting and plurping and all those “p” words. A real inspiration. I want to be right there with her and all of the participants, writing like a silly Forest Gump fool. I want to complain about finger cramps and arms that haven’t been lifted from the keyboard since November 1. I tingle at the thought of having something to show for my mental deviance by December 1. And I just like to be a part of something bigger.

Indeed, I’m going to participate and say Nanooo-nanooo (showing my age here) to the NaNoWriMo. How about you?

– Julie

8 thoughts on “Saying Yes or No to NaNoWriMo

  1. I say YES to NANO! I have done NANO for the last five years and love it. I won 3 of those years, but still consider the 2 years I didn’t win, wins too. I was able to write one year over 25,000 words and the other over 32,000. It’s such a fun way to write. I do an exercise first of tying up my internal editor, duct taping her mouth and locking her downstairs next to the water heater. Then I can write like a kid high on sugar with no parent to tell me I can’t. Very freeing. Good luck on your drinking and writing, Julie! I’ll be there helping you hit hte bottle. šŸ™‚

    1. Good for you! I hope to win something this year… I’m almost scared to think of how yucky it will be. Then again, maybe it will be fine. I like having a good goal to work toward.

  2. I’m planning on doing NaNo again this year — I finished the very first time I tried it, but not the other tries. So now I’m feeling like I want to conquer it again! Plus it will hopefully help me concentrate on which WIP I’m going to stick with.

    And even if I don’t finish, I figure whatever words I get written are still better than NO words. šŸ™‚

    1. Are you going to take a WIP concept and use it for the contest? I have several concepts and I’ve fiddled with outlines, but never really wrote anything. I might try something different than my usual edgy YA.

  3. Oh you! I’m loaded for bear for NaNo although I’ve got to be honest. This year I’m doing it with the thought of lighting a cigarette while waiting for a bus. I’m hoping I start and get beautifully derailed with news about my mss. What can I say? I’m shallow!

    NaNoWriMo is a fantastic experience and I truly believe a must for anyone who dreams of writing!

  4. I’m saying no. I’m going to wrap up two wips in the following months. I always hesitate because, just like your situation last year with your agent, what if something comes up?

    The picture is kind of freaky, but I wouldn’t mind a clone who does the other stuff while I write.

Leave a Reply

