Characters · Edgy · New Adult Fiction · Writing Style · Young adult writing

When Young Adults Cross Over


A wooden boat glides slowly across the River Hades. The mist envelopes the vessel and its inhabitants: a dozen teenagers in hoodies and skinny jeans, texting with one hand and dialing the iPod with the other. They’re about to cross over… to the other side of young adult.

Sounds like a real horror story, doesn’t? Actually, many new stories I’ve beta read seem to be heading over just like the kids above. The latest term for YA novels that cross over into the realm of adulthood… but not quite there… is “New Adult fiction.”

Now, I remember when I was a “new” adult, ready to buy beer but not quite legal enough to do it. I could stay out all night, but still had a curfew because I lived at home. College was the new and improved high school, where I could smoke on campus between classes (this was the early 90s, folks, when I smoked and so did everybody else). Not quite ready to settle down, but looking for a few good men to date, I was inquisitive and awestruck of the magical newness that was burgeoning adulthood. At the time, it would have been great to have a novel niche, such as New Adult fiction, to run to for parallel experiences in my life.

New Adult fiction, like its YA predecessor, serves to address the trials and tribulations of growing up. Except, New Adult goes a step further by looking at scenarios where we typically find ourselves in our late teens and early 20s (mind you, I write edgy so everything listed below is just that!).

  • Bettina goes to college and gets her heart broken by her English professor.
  • Tanya tries drugs and winds up in a bad situation over at Alpha Omega House.
  • Sean feels alone in this new world, working and slaving away in his first real job… and wondering about the guy over in Accounting.

And so it goes. YA and New Adult are really not that different, except for the ages of the characters and their settings. My good writer buddy, Trisha, recently made countless revisions to bring her YA story up to the New Adult standard. The story flows with the essence of exploration, and where it was good as a YA tale, it now shines as a standout novel ready to take on the New Adult market.

There is no separate section at Barnes and Noble for New Adult, but this doesn’t mean the books will simply soak into the YA arena. The idea of New Adult fiction is green and has to prove itself in the intensely competitive YA world. And I have a feeling it will cross over just fine.

6 thoughts on “When Young Adults Cross Over

    1. Hey Medeia –

      Yes, it was a big reveal on #yalitchat. My friend’s story is going to St. Martin’s, in fact, for consideration – they are the ones to coin the term and the genre. Should be an interesting time.

      – Julie

  1. I agree that it will cross over just fine. Much like many Middle Grade novels cross into YA. I like to write from 13-16 range, so not sure “New Adult” will ever be for me, but I like the idea of reading it. Some YA tries too hard to be current. New Adult might fit my personality better 🙂

    1. I’m excited about New Adult. I might try writing this genre next time around. Since most of my characters tend to have adult situations, it makes sense. Plus, there’s always the added bonus of writing story lines with more zip!

      – Julie

  2. I’m excited about the potential new adult genre. I think it’s good to keep pushing the boundaries b/c that way more people will have access to books that they connect with. When I first heard about the New Adult Genre a few months back I thought of the novel, Dark, by Kenji Jasper published several years ago. It’s an edgy engaging read.

    1. Dark… sounds good and dark! It’s such a moment of fence teetering, the division between YA and New Adult. Not quite ready to go all Jackie Collins, so the middle ground is a good place to have available.

      – Julie

Leave a Reply

