Peer Review · Reflection · Writing Style

Believe In Your Writing


Oh, the lull of a work in progress. They don’t call it WIP for nothing (ouch!). Seems every few chapters, I am overcome with a blanket of doubt.

  • Is this a good story?
  • Is it compelling?
  • Are the characters real?
  • Would I want to read this?

Questions like these keep me up at night, fill my head in the shower, and dominate dinner time. They also drive me to eat almonds non-stop and scrounge any bit of chocolate I can find. To really get over the disbelief in my writing, I turn to writer pal Trisha, who has been the biggest motivator for going forward with every word I type. It helps to have clarity, and that is what Trisha gives me (as well as drinking humor and other various goodies that brighten the day).

It also helps to print a draft of my WIP and just read it. If I’m not yacking and gagging by the time I’m done reading, I’m on the right path. A few tweaks can tighten the writing, a couple of edits can streamline the verbiage, and then I feel safe. Like a writer’s cocoon.

But the truth is often not safe, and if this is truly what you want to do — and were meant to do — you’ll know. When you love the words so much that it hurts… when your throat tightens each time you walk into Barnes & Noble… and when you worry that your writing isn’t good enough… take heart. You’re completely normal.

Now go get your beliefs in gear.

4 thoughts on “Believe In Your Writing

    1. Hi Cassandra,

      Thank you. We all go through the “doubts” and it isn’t fun! At least there are ways to pull ourselves out of it.

      – Julie

    1. Hi Dr. Bibey!

      Yes, mine has taken about that long as well. It started when my mom gave me a book in 1999 – The Gift of Fear by Gavin deBecker. That lead to the study of intuition, and then everything rolled together like a snowball. It feels so good to be here.

      – Julie

Leave a Reply

